"Pupils are proud of their school. They respect their teachers and appreciate that they help them to achieve their best. They feel very safe because they know that adults listen to them and care about them. OFSTED 2020"

Our School


In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, every state school has a Governing Body, consisting of specified numbers of various categories of governors depending on the type and size of school. The governing body at West Haddon Endowed Primary School encompasses a cross-section of unpaid volunteers from the local community and is composed of:

  • 3 Parent governors
  • 1 LEA governor
  • 1 Staff 3 co-opted governors
  • 3 Foundation governors
  • 1 Head teacher

David Rosevear complements the governing body as an ex officio staff governor – a position to which the take up is optional to all head teachers and David has kindly chosen to fulfill the role.

By law, our governing body meets at least 3 times every year, as a Full Governing Body, where the ongoing business of committees, the governing body and the school are discussed, reported on and where decisions are taken by a majority vote. Most of the work of governors, however, is done at committee level encompassing areas such as Finance, Premises, Performance Management and Standards.


The Governing Body at West Haddon is led by the Chair, Peter Stephens, who has been elected by the Governing Body from within its membership. The Chair is supported in their work by one or more Vice

Chairs or Committee Chairs, who may be delegated certain tasks or responsibilities. Certain tasks, including signing off the school budget, can only be done by the Chair. The process for election of chair and vice-chair and their term of office is laid down in the governing body's standing orders and elected on an annual basis.


Individuals performing a role within the governing body of West Haddon Endowed Primary School are shown below.

Governor Type Name Committee Interests

Term of Office

Co-opted Mr Peter Stephens
Safeguarding Governor   27/06/2016 26/06/2020
Local Authority Mr Robert Vaughan
(Vice Chair)


Performance Management


  24/10/2012 23/10/2020
Co-opted Mr Stephen Kerr




  13/10/2016 14/10/2020
Head Mr David Rosevear     01/09/2011  
Staff Mrs Amelia Hornshaw Link Governor   23/03/2016 22/03/2020
Parent Mrs Natalie Smith


SEND Governor

Pupil Premium

Personal relationship with pupil 27/09/2017 26/09/2021
Foundation Mrs Kate Butler

Section 48


  01/07/2018 02/07/2022
Parent Mr David Hunt Standards Personal relationship with pupil 08/05/2019 07/05/2023
Foundation Mrs Julie Morgan Section 48   03/06/2018 02/06/2022
Foundation Mr Mark Betson Finance Personal relationship with pupil    
Parent Mrs Megan Martin   Personal relationship with pupil 13/11/2020 12/11/2024
Clerk Mrs Colette Bowers     01/12/2008